Our Leadership

Our Board of Directors | Directors | Committees | Sections

Our Board of Directors



James P. Daley

Vice President, Administration

Alastair C. Torrance
Kilmorie Consulting
New South Wales, Australia

Vice President, Technical

Braden Lusk
Dyno Nobel


Janeen Smith
J. Smith & Associates, LLC


John Watson

Past President

John W. Eloranta (Jack)
Eloranta & Associates Inc.


Michael Allen

Mark Dean

William Hissem

Doug O. Hoy

Daniel Johansson

Kristen Kolden

Daniel Leach

Enrique Munaretti

Kurt Oakes

Yong Pan

William Reisz

Cameron Thomas

Simon Tose

Executive Director

J. Winston Forde


Awards Committee

Goal: To recommend a recipient for an Annual Award of Merit and other awards and to function as a mechanism for administration of these awards, which it believes promote the objectives of the society. Executive Liaison: Alastair Torrance; Chair: Janeen Smith

Blasters’ Training and Education Committee

Goal: To promote training for the benefit of members and others who apply scientific principals and techniques as they pertain to the use, handling, manufacture, transportation and storage of explosives. Executive Liaison: John Watson; Chair: Kurt Oakes; Vice Chair Kristen Kolden

Conference Advisory Committee

Goal: An ad hoc committee developed to serve as a liaison for members to discuss suggestions for changes to the annual conference related to the non-technical activities and make recommendations to the executive director and the board of directors. Executive Liaison: Braden Lusk; Chair: Mark Dean

Conference Program Committee

Goal: To plan and organize the program of technical presentations at the annual conference. Executive Liaison: Braden Lusk; Chair: Doug Hoy; Vice Chair: Catherine Johnson

Constitution Committee

Goal: To monitor and propose changes to the organization’s key governance documents. Executive Liaison: Alastair Torrance; Chair: John Watson

Ethics Committee

Goal: To be a sounding board for ethics concerns from members and to implement a monitoring system to handle inquires. Chair: Alastair Torrance

Explosives Security; Government Affairs and Transportation; Technical, Safety, and Environment Committee

Goal: To review standards and regulations regarding the security of explosives in the industry. Executive Liaison: John Watson; Chair: William Reisz

Finance Committee

Executive Liaison: Janeen Smith; Chair: Ric Hosley

Foundation Scholarship Committee

Goal: To support the education goals of the SEE Education Foundation. Scholarships are awarded to applicants who meet the following: Currently pursuing technical undergraduate, graduate or doctorate degrees in fields of education related to the commercial explosives industry; Must have completed at least one year of an accredited post secondary program; Able to demonstrate financial need. Executive Liaison: Jack Eloranta; Chair: Travis Davidsavor

International Committee

Goal: To implement the promotion of international relations and affiliations with organizations in the explosives field and related industries. Executive Liaison: Jim Daley; Chair: Simon Tose

ISEE Standards Committee

Goal: To develop and maintain standards consistent with the policies established by the board of directors. Executive Liaison: Doug Hoy; Chair: Ken Eltschlager

Membership and Chapter Development Committee

Goal: To promote membership in the society and make recommendations in the interest of members and ISEE. Executive Liaison: Jim Daley; Chair: Daniel Leach

Nominating Committee

Goal: To monitor and recruit candidates for the board of directors with a focus on strategic planning and resource needs for the governance of the organization. Executive Liaison: Alastair Torrance; Chair: Jack Eloranta

Planning Committee

Goal: To consider the long-range objectives for the society to determine the effectiveness with which the organization’s objectives are being met. Executive Liaison: Alastair Torrance; Chair: Braden Lusk

Public Education and Public Relations Committee

Goal: To make recommendations regarding society activities that focus on raising public awareness, understanding and appreciation of the explosives industry. Executive Liaison: Daniel Leach; Chair: Tristan Worsey

Publications Committee

Goal: To review and recommend to the board of directors the policy to be established respecting the technical content of the official publication of the society (Journal of Explosives Engineering). Executive Liaison: Jack Eloranta; Chair: William Reisz



Drilling Section


  • To conduct a meeting at the ISEE annual meeting; to form work groups within the section to examine drilling issues.
  • To develop standards for drilling practices.
  • To exchange information about drilling through the Journal of Explosives Engineering and the ISEE website.
  • To submit papers on drilling safety, controls accuracy and new technologies for a drilling session at the annual conference.

Chair: Jim Peterson; Executive Liaison: Bill Hissem

Seismograph Section


  • To conduct a meeting at the ISEE annual meeting.
  • To form work groups within the section to examine seismograph issues.
  • To develop standards for seismograph use.
  • To exchange information about the blast vibration field through the Journal of Explosives Engineering and the ISEE website.
  • To establish standards for seismograph equipment calibrations, standard protocol for testing and performance and user guidelines.

Chair: Kristin Kolden; Vice Chair: Doug Hoy


Fragblast Section


  • To organize the International Symposium on Rock Fragmentation by Blasting
  • To develop and produce the Blasting & Fragmentation Journal with papers focusing primarily in the area of fragmentation by blasting from scientists and engineers from around the world.

Chair: Jose Sanchidrian; Executive Liaison: Daniel Johansson

Emerging Professionals Section


  • Grow new industry professionals’ involvement in the society by engaging, retaining, and mentoring new members through providing professional networking opportunities and guidance.

Chair: Mike Allen